Best picks · Generators
Best inverter generator for a home outage
Three units, one each for the job: the light one with the lowest published noise figure, the dual-fuel one you can still carry, and the one with the most watts. Every number is the maker's, and nothing here was run by us.
Affiliate disclosure: some store links on HoldBackup are affiliate links. If you buy through one, HoldBackup may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How HoldBackup makes money
An inverter generator is the portable generator you can run electronics on: it makes clean power, throttles with the load, and runs quieter than an open-frame unit. For a house in an outage the question is not which is best, but which job you are buying for. A fridge, a router and some lights is one job. A furnace blower on top of that is another. Running for days on fuel you already have is a third.
The three below answer those three jobs. The standby or portable guide covers the decision before this one, and the refueling guide covers doing that safely.
The three, on the numbers that decide a home outage
| Criterion | Honda EU2200i | Champion 4000 W dual fuelthe pick for a house | Westinghouse iGen5000DFc |
|---|---|---|---|
| Running watts on gasoline | 1,800 W | 3,000 W | 3,900 W |
| Running watts on propane | No propane | 2,700 W | 3,500 W |
| Runtime at 1/4 loadthe makers' figures | 8.1 h per 0.95 gal tank | 10 h per 1.54 gal tank; 25 h on a 20 lb propane tank | 18 h per 3.4 gal tank; 22 h on propane |
| Noise | 48 dB(A) at 1/4 load, 57 at rated load; no distance given | 64 dBA at 23 ft | 52 dBA; no distance given |
| CO shut-off | CO-MINDER | CO Shield | CO sensor |
| Start | Recoil | Recoil | Electric, remote and recoil |
| Weight | 47.4 lb | 51.8 lb | 105.8 lb |
| Warranty | 3 years residential | 3 years limited | 3 years limited residential |
Runtime and noise are the makers' published figures, each on different terms, and none is a HoldBackup test. Honda does not state a measuring distance for noise, and Westinghouse states none either, so only Champion's 64 dBA at 23 feet is a comparable figure.
Generator safety: carbon monoxide and backfeed
Carbon monoxide: never run a generator indoors, in a garage, basement or crawlspace, or near windows, doors or vents. Using a generator indoors can kill you in minutes. Use battery-powered carbon monoxide alarms in the home. CPSC Safety Alert 5123
Backfeed: never plug a generator into a wall outlet or a dryer outlet. That is extremely dangerous: it can energize utility lines and injure line workers and people in the home. Use a transfer switch or interlock installed by a licensed electrician. CPSC Safety Alert 5123 (PDF)
Drawing of backup power equipment.
01 Portable inverter generator
Honda EU2200i
Sold as: Honda EU2200i 2200 Watt Inverter Generator (EU2200ITAN)
The light one, with the lowest noise figure published here. Honda rates it at 57 dB(A) at rated load and 48 dB(A) at a quarter load, and it weighs 47.4 lb. 1,800 running watts suits a fridge, a modem and router, lights and phone chargers; add up your own running watts before you put a furnace blower on it. Two units parallel to 4,400 W with Honda's cable. It runs on gasoline only, under a gallon per tank, so it suits short outages and a patio or campsite more than days without power. CO-MINDER stops the engine when carbon monoxide builds up near it, which is no reason to run it anywhere but outdoors.
- Output
- 2,200 W maximum / 1,800 W rated, 120 VSource for Output: maker
- Power quality
- Inverter; Honda publishes no THD figureSource for Power quality: maker
- Fuel tank
- 0.95 gal gasolineSource for Fuel tank: maker
- Runtime per tank
- 3.2 h at rated load; 8.1 h at 1/4 loadSource for Runtime per tank: maker
- Noise
- 57 dB(A) at rated load, 48 dB(A) at 1/4 load; distance not publishedSource for Noise: maker
- Outlets
- One 20 A 125 V duplex; no DC outputSource for Outlets: maker
- Parallel
- Yes, with a second EU2200i or the Companion, up to 4,400 WSource for Parallel: maker
- CO shut-off
- CO-MINDER stops the engine before CO near the unit gets dangerously highSource for CO shut-off: maker
- Start
- RecoilSource for Start: maker
- Weight
- 47.4 lb drySource for Weight: maker
- Engine
- Honda GXR120, 121 ccSource for Engine: maker
- Warranty
- 3 years residentialSource for Warranty: maker
- Emissions
- Not for sale in California; EPA status not stated on the pageSource for Emissions: maker
- App
- Honda My Generator over Bluetooth: stop, monitoring, service remindersSource for App: maker
- Not published by the maker
- Runtime at 50% load
Companion and parallel cable
- EU2200i Companion
- Model EU2200ITAN1: same engine and output, with a 30 A 125 V locking outlet and one 20 A outlet, for pairingSource for EU2200i Companion: maker
- Parallel cable
- Honda part 08E93-HPK123HI for two EU2200i; 08E92-HPK2031 with a 30 A RV adapter for an EU2200i and a CompanionSource for Parallel cable: maker
Honda's runtimes are per tank at rated load and at a quarter load, not a HoldBackup test. The CPSC recalled EU2200i units with serials EAMT-1000001 through EAMT-2098790, sold February 2018 to January 2020, for a fuel valve leak and an inverter short; Honda dealers repair them free.
Maker's US pageHonda's US page marks it in stock, with Buy Online and Shop Local.powerequipment.honda.com Checked
PriceAmazon sets it, and it changes. The button takes you to today's price.
Store linkPaid link
One quiet gasoline inverter generator for a home's essentials, run outdoors.
Check price on AmazonHoldBackup earns a commission if you buy through this link. Amazon sets the price.
Best for
- A fridge, a router and lights through an evening, with someone home to refuel
- Neighbors close by: Honda publishes the lowest noise figure here, though with no measuring distance
- Carrying it to the yard and back: 47.4 lb
- Pairing two later, up to 4,400 W
Skip if
- You want propane: it runs on gasoline only
- You need more than 1,800 running watts from one unit
- You are in California: Honda marks this model not for sale there
- You buy used without checking the serial: units through EAMT-2098790 were recalled in 2019 and 2020
Specs from Honda EU2200i product page, Honda EU2200i Companion product page, Honda generator accessories catalog (PDF), CPSC recall 20-090, March 2020, CPSC recall 19-088, March 2019.
Drawing of backup power equipment.
02 Portable inverter generator
Champion 4000W Dual Fuel Inverter
Sold as: Champion 4000-Watt Dual Fuel RV Ready Portable Inverter Generator
3,000 running watts on gasoline covers a fridge, a furnace blower, lights, and a modem and router at once through an inlet and interlock, and the inverter's clean output (under 3% THD) is safe for electronics. Dual fuel matters in an outage: propane stores for years and gives up to 25 hours at 25% load on a 20 lb tank. CO Shield shuts the engine off if carbon monoxide builds up, but it is not a substitute for a CO alarm or for running the unit 20 feet from the house.
- Output on gasoline
- 4,000 W starting / 3,000 W runningSource for Output on gasoline: maker
- Output on propane
- 4,000 W starting / 2,700 W running, 20 lb tankSource for Output on propane: maker
- Power quality
- Inverter, under 3% THDSource for Power quality: maker
- CO shut-off
- CO Shield stops the engine at unsafe CO levelsSource for CO shut-off: maker
- Fuel tank
- 1.54 gal gasolineSource for Fuel tank: maker
- Runtime at 25% load
- Up to 10 h on gasoline; up to 25 h on a 20 lb propane tankSource for Runtime at 25% load: maker
- Noise
- 64 dBA at 23 ftSource for Noise: maker
- Outlets
- 120 V 25 A RV (TT-30R), 120 V 20 A duplex (5-20R), 12 V DC, parallel ports; no USBSource for Outlets: maker
- Start
- RecoilSource for Start: maker
- Weight
- 51.8 lbSource for Weight: maker
- Engine
- 149 cc, 4-strokeSource for Engine: maker
- Warranty
- 3 years limitedSource for Warranty: maker
- Emissions
- EPA certified; CARB not publishedSource for Emissions: maker
Champion sells this title as model 201050 (and the spec-identical 201422); the numbers here are for those. The electric-start versions (201511, 201567, 201592) run 3,300 W on gasoline and weigh 54.2 lb. Runtime is Champion's figure at 25% load, not a test.
Maker's US pageChampion's US page lists it with a Buy Online button.championpowerequipment.com Checked
PriceAmazon sets it, and it changes. The button takes you to today's price.
Store linkPaid link
One portable inverter generator for a home's essentials, run outdoors.
Check price on AmazonHoldBackup earns a commission if you buy through this link. Amazon sets the price.
Best for
- Short or occasional outages with someone home to start it
- An inlet and interlock already installed by an electrician, or a few appliances on outdoor-rated cords
- You can store propane or fresh gasoline and site it 20 feet from the house
- Two units in parallel later, with Champion's parallel kit
Skip if
- Power has to come back while nobody is home: that is a standby unit
- Outages run for days and fuel is hard to get
- You need a whole-house load or a well pump with a big surge
- You want quiet: 64 dBA at 23 feet is a conversation, not silence
Specs from Champion product page (model 201050), Champion operator's manual (PDF).
Drawing of backup power equipment.
03 Portable inverter generator
Westinghouse iGen5000DFc
Sold as: Westinghouse 5000 Peak Watt Super Quiet Dual Fuel Portable Inverter Generator, Remote Electric Start, Gas & Propane Powered, RV Ready, CO Sensor, Parallel Capable
The most watts here from one unit. Westinghouse rates it at 3,900 running watts on gasoline and 3,500 on propane, which leaves room for a fridge, a furnace blower, lights and a modem and router at once through an inlet and interlock, once you have added up your own loads. It holds THD at 3% or under for electronics. A 3.4 gal tank gives Westinghouse's 18 hours at a quarter load, and propane 22 hours. Remote electric start matters in the dark. The cost is weight: 105.8 lb is a two-person lift. The built-in CO sensor shuts the engine down when carbon monoxide builds up; it still runs outdoors only.
- Output on gasoline
- 5,000 W peak / 3,900 W runningSource for Output on gasoline: maker
- Output on propane
- 4,500 W peak / 3,500 W runningSource for Output on propane: maker
- Power quality
- Inverter, THD 3% or underSource for Power quality: maker
- Fuel tank
- 3.4 gal gasolineSource for Fuel tank: maker
- Runtime at 25% load
- 18 h on gasoline; 22 h on propaneSource for Runtime at 25% load: maker
- Noise
- 52 dBA; distance not publishedSource for Noise: maker
- Outlets
- 120 V 20 A duplex (5-20R), 120 V 30 A RV (TT-30R), two USBSource for Outlets: maker
- Parallel
- Yes; the iGen240V parallel kit adds a 240 V outletSource for Parallel: maker
- CO shut-off
- Built-in carbon monoxide sensor shuts the engine downSource for CO shut-off: maker
- Start
- Electric, remote and recoilSource for Start: maker
- Weight
- 105.8 lb drySource for Weight: maker
- Engine
- 224 cc OHV, 4-strokeSource for Engine: maker
- Warranty
- 3 years limited residential; 1 year commercialSource for Warranty: maker
- Emissions
- CARB compliant: no; EPA status not stated on the pageSource for Emissions: maker
- Not published by the maker
- Runtime at 50% load
Westinghouse's runtimes are at a quarter load, not a HoldBackup test. This is the unit Westinghouse now sells at the old iGen4500DF address; the iGen4500DF itself is no longer in its lineup. The spec table lists gasoline peak amps as 37.5 A and running amps as 41.7 A, which look transposed, so go by the watts.
Maker's US pageWestinghouse lists it in its current US lineup and sends buyers to retailers through Where to buy.westinghouse.com Checked
PriceAmazon sets it, and it changes. The button takes you to today's price.
Store linkPaid link
One dual-fuel inverter generator with electric start for a home's essentials, run outdoors.
Check price on AmazonHoldBackup earns a commission if you buy through this link. Amazon sets the price.
Best for
- A fridge, a furnace blower and the network at once, through an inlet and interlock
- Propane on the shelf for years, gasoline when you can get it
- Starting it from the house with the remote, in the dark
- Outages that run for days: 3.4 gal at a quarter load is Westinghouse's 18 hours
Skip if
- You carry it alone: 105.8 lb is a two-person lift
- You need a noise figure you can compare: Westinghouse gives 52 dBA with no measuring distance
- You need CARB compliance
- You only ever need a router and a fridge: the 2,200 W class is less than half the weight
Specs from Westinghouse iGen5000DFc product page, Westinghouse dual-fuel inverter lineup, Westinghouse iGen240V parallel kit.
How we chose
- Running watts, by fuel, against the loads you add up from your own appliance labels.
- A carbon monoxide shut-off, which every unit here has. It is a last line, not a licence to run indoors.
- Fuel: propane stores for years, gasoline for months. Runtime is the maker's figure at a quarter load.
- Noise as the maker states it, with the measuring distance when there is one.
- Weight and start type, because someone has to move it and start it in the dark.
- Warranty as stated for residential use in the US.
Every number is the maker's, from the spec page or manual linked beside it. HoldBackup has no lab, so nothing on this page was tested by us, and Amazon sets the price the button shows.
Questions
What makes a generator an inverter generator?
It makes DC first and converts it to AC electronically, so the output is clean enough for electronics: Champion and Westinghouse publish 3% total harmonic distortion or under for the units here, while Westinghouse lists 23% or under for its open-frame WGen9500DF. Honda publishes no figure.
Can a CO shut-off make it safe to run a generator in a garage?
No. CO-MINDER, CO Shield and Westinghouse's sensor stop the engine after carbon monoxide has already built up near the unit. The CPSC says never to run a generator indoors, in a garage, basement or crawlspace, or near windows, doors or vents, and to use battery-powered CO alarms in the home.
Do I need an inlet and interlock, or can I use extension cords?
A few appliances on outdoor-rated cords works for a fridge and a lamp. A furnace blower or a well pump is wired into the house, so it needs an inlet box with an interlock or a transfer switch, installed by an electrician. Never plug a generator into a wall outlet.
Why does the page show runtime at a quarter load?
Because that is the figure the makers publish. Honda gives runtime per tank at rated load and at a quarter load; Champion and Westinghouse give a quarter load. Your runtime depends on what you plug in, so treat the numbers as the makers' claims, not as what you will see.
Where does the price button go?
Straight to Amazon. Amazon sets the price and availability, and both can change.
Newsletter
Get a reminder to check your backup gear before storm season.
More guides
Generator
Standby vs portable generators for home backup
How each connects to the house, what it needs installed, and the safety rules.
Generator
How much gasoline to store for a portable generator, and how to keep it fresh
Work out how much gasoline your generator needs for an outage, store it safely, and rotate it before it goes stale.
Generator
How to refuel a portable generator safely
Shut it off, let it cool, refuel outdoors where it runs. Here is how to refuel a portable generator safely and plan fuel so you refuel less often.
Generator
Should you add a propane conversion kit to a portable generator?
When a propane conversion kit makes sense for your portable generator, when a factory dual fuel model is simpler, and what to check before you buy.